What are the types of medical negligence

What Are The Types Of Medical Negligence?

Medical negligence, often referred to as clinical negligence, occurs when a healthcare professional provides care that falls below the expected standard, resulting in harm or injury to the patient.

Medical negligence can take various forms, and understanding these forms is crucial for patients and their families. This post aims to shed light on common types of medical negligence.

Types of Medical Negligence

Misdiagnosis or Delayed Diagnosis:

  • Misdiagnosis: Occurs when a healthcare professional incorrectly identifies a patient’s condition, leading to incorrect treatment or delayed treatment for the actual condition.
  • Delayed Diagnosis: Involves healthcare providers failing to diagnose a condition promptly, which can allow the illness to progress and potentially worsen.

Surgical Errors:

  • Wrong-Site Surgery: When a surgical procedure is performed on the wrong part of the body.
  • Surgical Instruments Left Behind: Surgical tools or foreign objects being unintentionally left inside a patient’s body after surgery.
  • Anaesthesia Errors: Mistakes in administering anaesthesia can result in adverse reactions or complications during surgery.

Medication Errors:

  • Prescription Errors: Incorrect medication or dosage prescribed to a patient, often leading to harmful side effects or inadequate treatment.
  • Dispensing Errors: Pharmacists providing the wrong medication or dosage to a patient resulting in harm or injury to the patient.

Birth Injuries:

Injuries sustained by a newborn or mother during childbirth due to medical negligence. Examples include cerebral palsy or shoulder dystocia/erb’s palsy.

Failure to Monitor or Act on Changes in Patient Condition:

Healthcare providers have a duty to continuously monitor patients and take appropriate action if their condition deteriorates. Failure to do so can result in harm.

Hospital-Acquired Infections:

Patients may contract infections while receiving treatment in a healthcare facility due to inadequate hygiene and infection control measures.

Psychiatric Negligence:

Involves negligent care or misdiagnosis in the field of mental health, leading to harm to the patient.

Nursing Home Negligence:

Occurs when residents of nursing homes or care facilities are subject to substandard care, leading to injuries or health deterioration.

Radiological and Imaging Errors:

Errors in interpreting X-rays, MRIs, or other diagnostic images, which can result in incorrect diagnoses or delayed treatment.

Failure to Refer to Specialists:

Healthcare providers may fail to refer patients to specialists when needed, which can delay proper diagnosis and treatment.

If you or a loved one believe you have been a victim of medical negligence, it’s essential to consult with a solicitor experienced in medical negligence cases. They can assess the circumstances, gather evidence, and help you pursue a legal claim for compensation and justice. Understanding the forms of medical negligence is the first step toward protecting your rights and holding healthcare providers accountable for substandard care.

Our Nicholson Jones Sutton Medical Negligence Specialists are sympathetic, understanding, and can help you get the outcome you deserve.

If you would like to discuss an issue, please get in touch to arrange a free no obligation consultation. We’re available by email or phone.


For fast, friendly affordable legal advice. Contact a member of our team today.


For any questions we may be able to answer, discover our FAQ section.

Contact Us